Spring Break

little beach street bakery

Neil the Puffin

I had a lovely week off spending time with my husband and being very lazy. It was my birthday and I got a book from one of my favorite authors Jenny Colgan who’s books I have been reading a lot over the past couple of years. The ones I have enjoyed the most include ‘Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe’ and ‘The Little Beach Street Bakery’ as they are perfect tales of escapism…you know falling on your face, losing it all and picking it all up, navigate the challenges and turning it around and ending up happier than you were in the first place by following your passion! If only real life was like this! But with Jenny Colgan’s writing you can almost believe it…or at least for one weekend you can pretend!

I was so inspired by her latest novel ‘Summer at the Little Beach Street Bakery’ which is a sequel to the previous story where Polly loses it all and moves to a remote island in Cornwall where she ends up baking for a living! I love to bake and I love Cornwall and it has been my fantasy since I was a kid to own a cafe/art gallery and spend my days baking and drawing bliss.

Managed a spot of baking with these hazelnut butter and choc chip cookies!

Managed a spot of baking with these hazelnut butter and choc chip cookies!

Yesterday I was so inspired and sad that I had finished this book I decided to paint a little sketch to remember my time in Mount Polbearne with Polly and her pet puffin Neil! I tweeted this over to Jenny to say how much I enjoyed the book and she loved it and tweeted me right back and even shared it on her own business FB page! I just love that you connect like this with people and thank them for their work and share how much they have brought you with their books. I hope one day I can bring someone this much joy with my art!

Blue tit feeding off the tree outside my window

Blue tit feeding off the tree outside my window

I am on Instagram a lot lately as Suzy_spellbound so you can follow me there is you like. It a lot of drawing, baking, cats and walks in the countryside…everything that I love really!

Actually saw some lambs being born in a field!

Actually saw some lambs being born in a field!

2 thoughts on “Spring Break

Leave a Reply

