New Work

New character development for new AW collections.

New character development for new AW collections.

It’s been such a long time since I blogged anything I have completely forgotten how to! It’s a very exciting week this week because the King Richard the 3rd visitor centre is opening in Leicester at the weekend and hopefully very soon I will have samples to show of my products and be able to go an take a look at them in stock in the gift shop!

This past couple of weeks I have been (trying) to get back to the drawing board…literally! I have been showing my designs at artist markets for the past year with varied success and have learned a lot about my potential customers and target market as well as meeting a lot of interesting designers, makers and new friends along the way!

But recently I have been forced to take a step back, have a good hard look at what I am doing and really ask myself ‘what AM I doing?’ and consequently I needed to focus more on the art and less on the product development and marketing side, which I have got so caught up trying to learn I forgot what it was I was trying to do in the first place!

So this month I have done a lot of soul searching and inspiration research and dug deep to discover what it really is I want to draw and produce and I have began (very slowly) starting a new collection which will form a body of work that truly represents the art I want to put out there!

SO I have been rediscovering my hand drawing skills with pen, paint and inks and even a little bit of charcoal came out yesterday!

Feeling very privileged to have some creative time…but I know it won’t last so trying to make the most of it!

Here is a little drawing of a character I was trying to develop yesterday…she was a little difficult to spot (probably afraid poor little thing, she’s been through quite a lot) but when I found her I was able to visualize her getting up to all sorts I can tell you!

New character development for new AW collections.

New character development for new AW collections.

Leave a Reply

