Techiniques and the Sleaford Christmas Market

Hello! Next weekend I will be taking part in my first Craft market. As part of Design Factory I will be taking a stall and selling my stuff along with other artists and designer makers in the Gifted 13 Christmas fair at the National Centre for Craft and Design. I have developed a range of products using artwork from the Midnight Garden collection that I showcased in the summer. I have being toying with the idea of developing products and this was an opportunity to get stuck in a trial a few ideas in front of the public (eek!).

This year for me has been very much about getting out and about in my local creative community. Joining things and taking part in anything that I feel is out of my comfort zone and will give me new experience. This has given me the opportunity to meet lots of other talented artists, designers and crafts people who I have been really inspired by!

As a result this has given me the drive to me much more creatively hands on. Get back into painting, sewing, drawing and printing which is what I love and will hopefully push my work into new directions.

I have made a small start on the path of re-discovering my passion and have made a few hand painted scarf designs for the market at the weekend. I bought a box of disperse dyes and hand painted motifs onto paper which I then transferred onto fabric with a heat press! I enjoyed this process at college and now I am dyeing (forgive the pun) to get back into screen printing and sewing next year to create my next ranges, which I hope will be a bit more textured and eclectic as I want to get away from the computer more as part of my creative process!

Here are a few pics from my hand painted scarf project!

Image

Image

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage 

Leave a Reply

